Passer directement au contenu

Carl Ernst, PhD
Photo

Researcher, Douglas Institute
Assistant Professor, Department of Psychiatry, McGill University


carl_dot_ernst_At_mcgill_dot_ca
Areas of expertise
Genomics, stem cell biology, advanced DNA sequencing, epigenetics, neurodevelopmental disorders, mood disorders, suicide
Profile

Carl Ernst, PhD, was a fellow at Harvard Medical School, Massachusetts General Hospital in the Center for Human Genetic Research, where he studied stem cells and genetics. In September 2011, he joined the McGill Group for Suicide Studies at the Douglas Institute.

The goal of his work is to study human behaviour and mood by identifying genes that may be involved in mental disorders. For this work, he produces cellular models based on the functions of specific genes, then screens at-risk populations for genetic mutations, deriving stem cells from their tissue. He then assesses functions in neurons derived from these subjects’ stem cells.

The way he assesses mutated genes includes both molecular and morphological techniques. Molecular techniques encompass alterations in biochemical processes and gene expression patterns, while morphological techniques refer to cell structure analyses and cell connectivity assays.
 

Contact information
Douglas Institute
Frank B. Common Pavilion
Room F-2101.2
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montreal (Quebec)
H4H 1R3
Phone :
514 761-6131
ext.: 3382

Fax :
514-762-3023
Research division :
  • - Neurosciences
Awards and distinctions :
  • - Canada Research Chair (Tier 2)
[ view more awards ]
Publications
External link :
path
send
share
share

Passer directement au contenu

Carl Ernst, Ph.D.
Photo

Chercheur, Institut Douglas
Professeur adjoint, Département de psychiatrie, Université McGill


carl_dot_ernst_At_mcgill_dot_ca
Champs d'expertise
Génomique, biologie des cellules souches, séquençage ADN avancé, épigénétique, troubles neurodéveloppementaux, troubles de l’humeur, suicide
Profil

Carl Ernst, Ph.D., était boursier au Center for Human Genetic Research de la Harvard Medical School (Boston, Massachusetts) où il a étudié les cellules souches et la génétique. Il s’est joint au Groupe McGill d’études sur le suicide à l’Institut Douglas en septembre 2011.

Carl Ernst étudie le comportement et les troubles de l’humeur en identifiant les gènes impliqués dans les troubles mentaux. Pour ce faire, il produit ensuite des modèles cellulaires qui se basent sur le fonctionnement de gènes spécifiques. Par la suite, il sélectionne des personnes à risque de mutation génétique, extrait des cellules souches de leurs tissus et analyse la fonction des neurones dérivés de ces cellules souches.

Pour étudier les gènes mutés, il utilise aussi bien les techniques moléculaires que morphologiques. Les techniques moléculaires comprennent les modifications des processus biochimiques génétiques et les schémas d’expression génétique. Les techniques morphologiques, elles, renvoient à l'analyse des structures et de la connectivité cellulaires.
 

Coordonnées
Institut Douglas
Pavillon Frank B. Common
Bureau F-2101.2
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montréal (Québec)
H4H 1R3
Téléphone :
514 761-6131
Poste: 3382

Télécopieur :
514-762-3023
Division de recherche :
  • - Neurosciences
Groupe de recherche :
Prix et distinctions :
  • - Chaire de recherche du Canada (niveau 2)
[ consulter les autres prix ]
Publications
Lien externe :
path
send
share
share