Passer directement au contenu

Diane B. Boivin, MD, PhD
Photo

Founder/Director, Centre for Study and Treatment of Circadian Rhythms, Douglas Institute
Researcher, Douglas Institute
Full Professor, Department of Medecine, McGill University, Research Fellow in Sleep Disorders


diane_dot_boivin_At_douglas_dot_mcgill_dot_ca
Areas of expertise
Human circadian rhythms, sleep-wake cycle, phototherapy, night shift work and rotating shiftwork, jet lag, fatigue management
Profile

Diane B. Boivin completed her MD at Laval University in 1985 and conducts research as an expert in sleep and circadian rhythms since 1986. She obtained her PhD in neurological sciences at the University of Montreal in 1993. From 1992 to 1997, she completed a postdoctoral clinical/research fellowship in Boston in human chronobiology at the Brigham and Women’s Hospital, affiliated to Harvard Medical School. Her research interests cover:

  • the problem of maladaptation to shift work
  • jet lag
  • fatigue risk management
  • the role of circadian rhythms in psychiatric conditions
  • the interaction between menstrual and circadian cycles
  • the circadian variation of cardiovascular function

Throughout her career, she won multiple prizes and awards such as the Gold medal of the Governor General of Canada, the Young Investigator Award Distinction from the American Sleep Research Society, the Honorary Award Distinction for Specialized Medicine from the Association des Médecins de Langue Française du Canada and over 15 salary awards from the FRSQ and CIHR grant agencies. In 2012, she was elected Circadian Head Section of the American Sleep Research Society.

During her career as a researcher, she has written over 300 publications. Diane Boivin is Associate Editor of the journal Sleep, and a member of the editorial committee of the journals Sleep Medicine, Chronobiology International, and Journal of Biological Rhythms. She is the guest editor for the journal Sleep Medicine of a 2007 special issue on circadian rhythms disorders. In 2012, she published a book for the general public on sleep and its disorders. This book entitled Le sommeil et vous. Mieux dormir, mieux vivre serves as a useful clinical tool for the management of sleep disorders patients.

Contact information
Douglas Institute
Frank B. Common Pavilion
Room F-1127
6875, LaSalle blvd
Montreal (Quebec)
H4H 1R3
Phone :
514 761-6131
ext.: 2397

Fax :
514 888-4064
Research division :
  • - Clinique
Awards and distinctions :
  • - SRS Young Investigator Award
[ view more awards ]
Publications
Find out more :
path
send
share
share

Passer directement au contenu

Diane B. Boivin, M.D., Ph.D.
Photo

Fondatrice/directrice, Centre d'étude et de traitement des rythmes circadiens, Institut Douglas
Chercheuse, Institut Douglas
Professeure titulaire, Département de médecine, Université McGill


diane_dot_boivin_At_douglas_dot_mcgill_dot_ca
Champs d'expertise
Les rythmes circadiens humains, le cycle veille / sommeil, la photothérapie, le travail de nuit et le travail rotatif, le décalage horaire et la gestion de la fatigue.
Profil

Diane B. Boivin a complété sa médecine à l’Université Laval en 1985 et mène ses recherches à titre d’experte sur le sommeil et les rythmes circadiens depuis 1986. Elle a obtenu son doctorat en sciences neurologiques à l’Université de Montréal en 1993. De 1992 à 1997, elle a complété un stage postdoctoral de recherche clinique en chronobiologie humaine à Boston au Brigham and Women’s Hospital, affilié au Harvard Medical School. Ses intérêts de recherche couvrent:

  • les troubles d’adaptation aux horaires de travail rotatif et de nuit
  • le décalage horaire
  • la gestion des risques liés à la fatigue
  • le rôle des rythmes circadiens dans les maladies psychiatriques
  • la relation entre le cycle menstruel et les rythmes circadiens
  • la variation circadienne des fonctions cardiovasculaires

Au cours de sa carrière, on lui a décerné plusieurs prix et distinctions tels que la médaille d’or du gouverneur général du Canada, le Young Investigator Award du American Sleep Research Society, le prix des médecins de cœur et d’action de l’Association des médecins de langue française du Canada et plus de 15 bourses salariales des Instituts de recherche en santé du Canada (IRSC) et du Fond de la recherche en santé du Québec (FRSQ). En 2012, elle a été élue chef de la Section Circadienne du American Sleep Research Society.

Durant sa carrière de chercheure, Diane Boivin a produit plus de 300 publications scientifiques. Elle est éditrice associée pour la revue Sleep et est membre du comité éditorial pour les revues Sleep Medicine et Chronobiology International et Journal of Biological Rhythms. Elle a aussi été l’éditrice invitée pour un numéro spécial de Sleep Medecine sur les troubles des rythmes circadiens publié en 2007. En 2012, elle a publié un livre pour le grand public sur le sommeil et ses troubles. Ce livre intitulé Le sommeil et vous. Mieux dormir, mieux vivre sert de ressource clinique utile pour la prise en charge de patients souffrant de troubles du sommeil.

Coordonnées
Institut Douglas
Pavillon Frank B. Common
Bureau F-1127
6875, LaSalle blvd
Montréal (Québec)
H4H 1R3
Téléphone :
514 761-6131
Poste: 2397

Télécopieur :
514 888-4064
Division de recherche :
  • - Clinique
Prix et distinctions :
  • - SRS Young Investigator Award
[ consulter les autres prix ]
Publications
En savoir plus :
path
send
share
share