Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de l’Ouest-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Accueil Plan du site Courrier Portail Québec Passer directement au contenu

Eduardo Chachamovich, MD, PhD
Photo

Psychiatrist, Mood, Anxiety and Impulsivity Disorders Program, Douglas Institute
Researcher, Douglas Institute


eduardo_dot_chachamovich_At_douglas_dot_mcgill_dot_ca
Areas of expertise
Suicide, aboriginal suicide, aboriginal mental health, suicidal behaviour, mood disorders, bipolar disorders, depressive disorders, psychometrics, item response theory
Profile

Eduardo Chachamovich, MD, PhD, joined the Douglas after completing his PhD at UFRGS (Brazil) / University of Edinburgh (Scotland), where he explored modern psychometric approaches to measure multidimensional health phenomena. This is a study supported by the World Health Organization in 22 countries around the world.

He also completed a two-year postdoctoral fellowship at the McGill University Faculty of Medicine, which consisted of a comprehensive assessment of risk and protective factors for suicide completion among Inuit in the Territory of Nunavut. His postdoctoral research project was the first to collect systematic data on a large and representative sample of suicide completers in Nunavut. The results will greatly help decision-makers and policy-makers better understand and promote effective suicide prevention strategies.

Eduardo Chachamovich’s work focuses mainly on social and clinical determinants of mental health in Aboriginal populations. He is also interested in exploring adequate strategies to develop valid and culturally-appropriate measures for mental disorders. His current research includes:

  • Suicide ideation and behaviours in different Inuit regions
  • Risk/protective factors for Inuit suicide completion in Nunavut
  • Culturally-sensitive knowledge translation strategies
  • Assessment of unmet mental health needs
  • Exploration of the psychometric performance of measures of psychopathology among Aboriginal peoples.

Eduardo Chachamovich is a member of the McGill Group for Suicide Studies (MGSS) and the Network for Aboriginal Mental Health Research (NAMHR). He works in close collaboration with the Division of Social and Transcultural Psychiatry (McGill University), the Government of Nunavut, Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI), and Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK). Dr. Chachamovich is also a clinical psychiatrist with the Mood Disorders Program at the Douglas Institute.

Contact information
Douglas Institute
Frank B. Common Pavilion
Room F-3118.3
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montreal (Quebec)
H4H 1R3
Phone :
514 761-6131
ext.: 3301

Fax :
514 888-4466
Research division :
  • - Clinique
Awards and distinctions :
  • - ISOQOL Young Investigators' Award
[ view more awards ]
Publications
path
send
share
share

Passer directement au contenu

Eduardo Chachamovich, M.D., Ph.D.
Photo

Psychiatre, Programme des troubles de l'humeur, d'anxiété et d'impulsivité et Programme des troubles bipolaires, Institut Douglas
Chercheur, Institut Douglas


eduardo_dot_chachamovich_At_douglas_dot_mcgill_dot_ca
Champs d'expertise
Suicide, suicide autochtone, santé mentale autochtone, comportement suicidaire, troubles de l’humeur, troubles bipolaires, troubles dépressifs, psychométrie, théorie de la réponse aux items
Profil

Eduardo Chachamovich, M.D., Ph.D., s’est joint à l’Institut Douglas après avoir obtenu un Ph.D. de l’UFRGS (Brésil)/Université d’Édimbourg (Écosse), où il a exploré des approches psychométriques modernes pour mesurer des phénomènes de santé multidimensionnels. Il s’agit d’une étude dans 22 pays du monde financée par l’Organisation mondiale de la santé.

Eduardo Chachamovich a été aussi titulaire d’une bourse postdoctorale de deux ans à la Faculté de médecine de l’Université McGill pour réaliser une évaluation globale des facteurs de risque et de protection associés au suicide chez les Inuits du territoire du Nunavut. Ce projet de recherche postdoctorale représentait la première collecte systématique de données sur un vaste échantillon représentatif de personnes suicidées au Nunavut. Les résultats seront d’un grand secours aux décideurs et aux auteurs de politiques pour améliorer la connaissance et la promotion de stratégies efficaces de prévention du suicide.

Les travaux d’Eduardo Chachamovich portent principalement sur les déterminants sociaux et cliniques de la santé mentale des populations autochtones. Il explore aussi les stratégies les plus adéquates pour élaborer des outils de mesure des troubles mentaux qui soient valides et adaptés culturellement.

Ses travaux de recherche actuels concernent notamment :

  • L’idéation suicidaire et les comportements suicidaires dans diverses régions inuites
  • Les facteurs de risque et de protection associés à la réalisation du suicide chez les Inuits du Nunavut
  • Les stratégies de transfert des connaissances sensibles aux spécificités culturelles
  • L’évaluation des besoins non satisfaits en matière de santé mentale
  • La performance psychométrique pour mesurer la psychopathologie chez les peuples autochtones

Eduardo Chachamovich est membre du Groupe de McGill pour les études sur le suicide(GMES) et du Réseau national de recherche en santé mentale chez les Autochtones (RNRSMA). Il travaille en étroite collaboration avec la Division de psychiatrie sociale et transculturelle de l’Université McGill, le gouvernement du Nunavut, la Nunavut Tunngavik Inc. (NTI) et l’Inuit Tapiriit Kanatami (ITK). Eduardo Chachamovich est également psychiatre clinique attaché au Programme des troubles de l’humeur de l’Institut Douglas.

Coordonnées
Institut Douglas
Pavillon Frank B. Common
Bureau F-3118.3
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montréal (Québec)
H4H 1R3
Téléphone :
514 761-6131
Poste: 3301

Télécopieur :
514 762-3023
Division de recherche :
  • - Clinique
Prix et distinctions :
  • - Prix jeune chercheur ISOQOL
[ consulter les autres prix ]
Publications
path
send
share
share