Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de l’Ouest-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Accueil Plan du site Courrier Portail Québec Passer directement au contenu

Michel Perreault, PhD
Photo

Researcher, Douglas Institute
Associate Professor, Department of Psychiatry, McGill University
Affiliated Professor, Department of Psychology, Université du Québec à Montréal
Affiliated Professor, Faculty of medicine, Department of Community health science, Université de Sherbrooke


michel_dot_perreault_At_douglas_dot_mcgill_dot_ca
Areas of expertise
Program and treatment evaluation in the domains of mental health and addiction, with a particular interest for the evaluation of the perspectives of clientele; Development, implementation and evaluation of training programs for staff and peer helpers in addiction and mental health.
Profile

Only 40% of persons having a mental health problem receive treatment. This situation is often attributed to difficulty in terms of access, and it becomes even more complicated for persons having concurrent mental health and substance use disorders. These individuals must navigate services among various networks that are often developed in parallel and which present numerous flaws in terms of their integration.

According to a large American study (Régier, 1990), nearly a third of persons with a diagnosed mental health problem will also face a problem related to alcoholism or substance abuse later in life. This is double the number that is observed for persons not having a mental health problem. It is therefore very important that services currently offered be better adapted for this particular population.

Michel Perreault, PhD, has been working as a researcher at the Douglas Institute since 1995, conducting research to evaluate with the aim of improving services and treatments in psychiatry. He is a member of the Groupe de recherche et intervention sur les substances psychoactives-Québec (RISQ) and an associate researcher at the Centre de réadaptation en dépendance de Montréal – Institut universitaire (CRDM-IU).

Working within a clinical environment, Michel Perreault and his team develop projects involving applied research on treatments, organization and evaluation of services in psychiatry and addiction. He is particularly interested in persons having concurrent mental health and substance use disorders and the integration of the services that are intended for them. Since 2002, he is responsible for a cross-training program that aims to improve the functioning of services within a network involving services for mental health and substance use. The program has included over 2600 participants since its beginnings, and is currently being implemented in other regions.

Michel Perreault is also responsible for the evaluation of numerous treatments and programs related to substance use, some of which involve persons with an opioid dependency or users of injectable drugs. He is also interested in the evaluation of interventions led by peer helpers for this clientele and for those having anxiety disorders, in the form of self-treatment groups.

Contact information
Douglas Institute
Porteous Pavilion
Room K-3114
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montreal (Quebec)
H4H 1R3
Phone :
514 761-6131
ext.: 2823

Fax :
514 888-4063
Research division :
  • - Psychosociale
Publications
path
send
share
share

Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de l’Ouest-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Accueil Plan du site Courrier Portail Québec Passer directement au contenu

Michel Perreault, Ph.D.
Photo

Chercheur, Institut Douglas
Professeur agrégé, Département de psychiatrie, Université McGill
Professeur associé, Département de psychologie, Université du Québec à Montréal
Professeur associé, Faculté de médecine, Département des sciences de la santé communautaire, Université de Sherbrooke


michel_dot_perreault_At_douglas_dot_mcgill_dot_ca
Champs d'expertise
Évaluation de programmes et de traitements dans les domaines de la santé mentale et de la toxicomanie avec un intérêt particulier pour l'évaluation de la perspective des clientèles; Développement, implantation et évaluation de programmes de formation pour intervenants et pairs-aidants en toxicomanie et en santé mentale
Profil

Seulement 40% des personnes qui souffrent d’un trouble de santé mentale recourent à des traitements. Cette situation est souvent reliée à des difficultés d’accès aux services qui est d’autant plus compliqué pour les personnes aux prises avec des troubles concomitants de santé mentale et de toxicomanie. Ces dernières doivent en effet négocier des services dans plusieurs réseaux qui se sont souvent développés en parallèle et qui présentent plusieurs lacunes au niveau de leur intégration.

Selon une grande étude américaine (Régier, 1990), près du tiers des personnes chez qui on a diagnostiqué un trouble de santé mentale feront face à un trouble lié à l’alcoolisme ou à la toxicomanie plus tard dans la vie. C’est le double de ce qui est observé chez les personnes n’ayant pas eu de trouble de santé mentale. Il importe que les services actuellement offerts soient mieux adaptés à cette population.

Michel Perreault, Ph.D. est chercheur à l'Institut Douglas depuis 1986 et il effectue des recherches visant à évaluer les services et les traitements en psychiatrie, en vue de leur amélioration. Il est membre du Groupe de recherche et intervention sur les substances psychoactives-Québec (RISQ) et un chercheur associé au Centre de réadaptation en dépendance de Montréal – Institut universitaire (CRDM-IU).

Œuvrant en milieu de pratique clinique, Michel Perreault et son équipe mènent des projets de recherche appliquée sur les traitements, l'organisation et l'évaluation des services en psychiatrie et en toxicomanie. Il s’intéresse particulièrement aux personnes souffrant de troubles concomitants de santé mentale et de toxicomanie et à l’intégration des services qui leur sont destinés. Depuis 2002, il est responsable d’un programme de formation croisée dont le but est d'améliorer le fonctionnement en réseau des services en santé mentale et en toxicomanie. Le programme a rejoint plus de 2600 intervenants depuis ses débuts, et il est en voie d’implantation dans plusieurs autres régions.

Michel Perreault mène aussi l’évaluation de plusieurs traitements et de programmes en toxicomanie, dont certains auprès des personnes dépendantes aux opioïdes et des utilisateurs de drogues injectables. Il s’intéresse tout spécialement à l’évaluation des interventions menées par des pairs-aidants auprès de cette clientèle et aussi auprès des personnes aux prises avec un trouble anxieux, dans le cadre de groupes d’auto-traitement.

Coordonnées
Institut Douglas
Pavillon Porteous
Bureau K-3114
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montréal (Québec)
H4H 1R3
Téléphone :
514 761-6131
Poste: 2823

Télécopieur :
514 888-4063
Division de recherche :
  • - Psychosociale
Publications
path
send
share
share