Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de l’Ouest-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Accueil Plan du site Courrier Portail Québec Passer directement au contenu

Pedro Rosa-Neto, MD, PhD
Photo

Researcher, Douglas Institute
Director of Translational Neuroimaging Laboratory
Assistant Professor, Department of Neurology & Neurosurgery and Psychiatry, McGill University


pedro_dot_rosa_At_mcgill_dot_ca
Areas of expertise
Translational neuroimaging, human and animal imaging, PET, MRI, neurodegenerative disease, dementia.
Profile

Pedro Rosa-Neto, MD, PhD, is a clinical neurologist who is interested in the structural changes that occur in the brain as a result of neurodegenerative disease, such as Alzheimer’s disease. His studies involve using brain-imaging techniques including positron emission tomography (PET) and magnetic resonance imaging (MRI) to observe and measure these changes.

Pedro Rosa-Neto directs the Translational Neuroimaging Laboratory (TNL), a multi-site facility, which is shared between the Douglas Institute, the McGill Centre for Studies in Aging and the Montreal Neurological Institute. This cross intuitional lab, a first for Quebec, will link animal studies with human conditions, and help identify early markers of disease.

The main gaols of the Pedro Rosa-Neto’s work include: 

  • Identifying imaging markers of neurodegenerative disease in animal models
  • Using these biomarkers for early diagnosis of dementia.

Pedro Rosa-Neto is also involved with a new research program aimed at early detection of Alzheimer’s disease (AD). His team is part of a consortium of other research centers in Europe and North America, which are using brain imaging to diagnosis AD. Previous research in neuroimaging has suggested that PET and MRI are more accurate and consistent measures of the progression of AD than those assessments currently available.

Contact information
Douglas Institute
FBC Pavilion
Room F-0105
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montreal (Quebec)
H4H 1R3
Phone :
514 761-6131
ext.: 3446
Resume
Research division :
  • - Clinique
Awards and distinctions :
  • - FRSQ Research Scholar Award
[ view more awards ]
Publications
Related Douglas link :
Find out more :
External link :
path
send
share
share

Centre intégré universitaire de santé et de services sociaux de l’Ouest-de-l’Île-de-Montréal
Accueil Plan du site Courrier Portail Québec Passer directement au contenu

Pedro Rosa-Neto, M.D., Ph.D.
Photo

Chercheur, Institut Douglas
Directeur du Laboratoire de neuroimagerie translationnelle
Professeur adjoint, départements de Neurologie et Neurochirurgie et de Psychiatrie, Université McGill


pedro_dot_rosa_At_mcgill_dot_ca
Champs d'expertise
Neuroimagerie translationnelle, imagerie humaine et animale, TEP, IRM, maladie neurodégénérative, démence
Profil

Pedro Rosa-Neto, M.D., Ph.D., est un neurologue clinicien qui s’intéresse aux changements structuraux que produisent dans le cerveau les maladies dégénératives, comme la maladie d’Alzheimer. Ses études font appel aux techniques d’imagerie cérébrale, notamment la tomographie par émission de positons (TEP) et l’imagerie par résonance magnétique (IRM), pour l’observation et la mesure de ces changements.

Pedro Rosa-Neto dirige le Laboratoire de neuroimagerie translationnelle (LNT), laboratoire pluri-établissements qui dessert l’Institut Douglas, le Centre d’études sur le vieillissement de l’Université McGill et l’Institut neurologique de Montréal. Ce laboratoire pluri-établissements, le premier du genre au Québec, mettra en relation les études animales et les pathologies humaines en vue d’identifier les marqueurs précoces de la maladie.

Les grands objectifs des travaux de Pedro Rosa-Neto sont les suivants : 

  • Identifier les marqueurs d’imagerie de la maladie dégénérative dans les modèles animaux 
  • Utiliser ces marqueurs biologiques pour le diagnostic précoce de la démence.

Pedro Rosa-Neto participe également à un nouveau programme de recherche consacré à la détection précoce de la maladie d’Alzheimer (MA). Son équipe fait partie d’un consortium d’autres centres de recherche en Europe et en Amérique du Nord qui utilisent l’imagerie cérébrale pour le diagnostic de la MA. Des recherches antérieures de neuroimagerie ont suggéré que la TEP et l’IRM donnent des mesures plus précises et plus régulières de la progression de la MA que les outils d’évaluation disponibles actuellement.

Coordonnées
Institut Douglas
Pavillon FBC
Bureau F-0105
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montréal (Québec)
H4H 1R3
Téléphone :
514 761-6131
Poste: 3446
Curriculum Vitae
Thème de recherche :
Division de recherche :
  • - Clinique
Prix et distinctions :
  • - Chercheur-boursier du FRSQ
[ consulter les autres prix ]
Publications
En savoir plus :
path
send
share
share