Passer directement au contenu

Salah El Mestikawy, PhD
Photo

Researcher, Douglas Institute
Professor, Department of Psychiatry, McGill University
Canada Research Chair in Neurobiology


salah_dot_elmestikawy_At_mcgill_dot_ca
Areas of expertise
Neurobiology, molecular biology, neuroanatomy, glutamatergic neurotransmission, animal modeling, post-mortem examinations of human neuropathologies.
Profile

Salah El Mestikawy, PhD, joined the Douglas Institute in 2008 to direct an international research team based both at the Douglas Institute and at the Pierre & Marie Curie University in France (INSERM U952, CNRS UMR7224).

In the brain, neurons use a combination of electrical and chemical signals to communicate with each other. Chemical messengers are also known as neurotransmitters. Glutamate is the main excitatory neurotransmitter of the central nervous system. Without glutamate, we would not be able to relate to our immediate surroundings and act accordingly. Glutamate is therefore involved in every side of the nervous system, be it under normal or pathological conditions.

As part of their research work, Salah El Mestikawy and his team have combined different approaches to analyze how the brain works, ranging from the molecular and fundamental functions to the most integrated aspects, such as behaviour and pathology.

The main objective of their work consists in the study of neurons using glutamate as a neurotransmitter in healthy and diseased central nervous systems. Before being released as a result of an electrical stimulus (action potential), glutamate is accumulated into synaptic vesicles by means of three specialized transporters, VGLUT1-3. These transporters are key anatomical and functional markers of glutamatergic neurotransmission. Since 2000, Salah El Mestikawy and his team have contributed to the discovery of these three VGLUTs, and have implemented a number of tools (probes, antiserums, mutant mice) and methods (anatomical, biochemical, and behavioural) to provide for new ways of studying the role of glutamatergic systems in healthy and diseased brains.

Their research work should help not only to increase our basic knowledge of the central nervous system but also to develop new diagnostic and pharmacological tools that target glutamatergic neurons.

Contact information
Douglas Institute
Perry Pavilion
Room E-3213
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montreal (Quebec)
H4H 1R3
Phone :
514 761-6131
ext.: 6151
Research division :
  • - Neurosciences
Research groups :
Publications
path
send
share
share

Passer directement au contenu

Salah El Mestikawy, Ph.D.
Photo

Chercheur, Institut Douglas
Professeur titulaire, Département de psychiatrie, Université McGill
Titulaire, Chaire de recherche du Canada en neurobiologie


salah_dot_elmestikawy_At_mcgill_dot_ca
Champs d'expertise
Neurobiologie, biologie moléculaire, neuroanatomie, neurotransmission glutamatergique, modélisation animale, études post mortem des neuropathologies humaines.
Profil

Salah El Mestikawy, Ph.D. s'est joint au Douglas en mars 2008 où il y dirige une équipe internationale de recherche, basée à la fois au Québec à l’Institut Douglas et en France à l’Université Pierre et Marie Curie à Paris (INSERM U952, CNRS UMR7224).

Les neurones du cerveau utilisent une combinaison de signaux électriques et chimiques pour communiquer entre eux. Parmi ces messagers chimiques, appelés neurotransmetteurs, le glutamate est le neurotransmetteur excitateur principal. C’est grâce au glutamate que nous percevons notre environnement et agissons en conséquence. Le glutamate est donc impliqué dans tous les aspects du fonctionnement du système nerveux aussi bien dans les conditions normales que pathologiques.

Dans le cadre de leurs travaux de recherche, Salah El Mestikawy et son équipe combinent différentes approches qui permettent d’analyser le fonctionnement du cerveau, en allant des aspects moléculaires et fondamentaux vers les aspects les plus intégrés comme le comportement et la pathologie.

L’objectif central de leurs travaux consiste en l’étude des neurones utilisant le glutamate comme neurotransmetteur dans le système nerveux central sain ou malade. Avant d’être libéré, à l’arrivée d’un stimulus électrique (potentiel d’action), le glutamate est accumulé dans des vésicules synaptiques par trois transporteurs spécifiques (VGLUT1-3). Ces transporteurs sont donc des marqueurs anatomiques et fonctionnels centraux de la neurotransmission glutamatergiques. Depuis l’année 2000, Salah El Mestikawy et son équipe ont contribué à la découverte de ces trois VGLUTs, et ont mis en place un certain nombre d’outils (sondes, antisérums, souris mutantes) et de méthodes (anatomiques, biochimiques, comportementales) pour permettre d’étudier de façon innovante l’implication des systèmes glutamatergiques dans le cerveau sain ou malade.

Leurs travaux de recherche devraient permettre, à la fois, d’augmenter nos connaissances fondamentales sur le système nerveux central et de fournir de nouveaux outils diagnostiques ou pharmacologiques ciblant les neurones glutamatergiques.

Coordonnées
Institut Douglas
Pavillon Perry
Bureau E-3213
6875, boulevard LaSalle
Montréal (Québec)
H4H 1R3
Téléphone :
514 761-6131
Poste: 6151
Thème de recherche :
Division de recherche :
  • - Neurosciences
Publications
path
send
share
share